US Advisory Committee for International Carbohydrate Symposia

*The intent of this summary is not to replicate the bylaws but to provide a brief summary of key points.
Readers are advised refer to the current bylaws for full details of the USACICS organization.

CARB representatives join an equal number of CELL representatives to form the US Advisory Committee for International Carbohydrate Symposia (USACICS). The USACICS was originally incorporated in the State of Illinois on October 4, 1982 and the original bylaws remain mostly unchanged. The USACICS is currently incorporated in the State of Michigan (as a general not-for-profit incorporation). 

The purpose of the corporation is to ensure the interests of the carbohydrate chemists and biochemists of the US are represented to the International Carbohydrate Organization (ICO),to plan International Carbohydrate Symposia (ICS) in the US and manage the funds and financing for the US meeting.

The USACICS holds the funds that result from any surpluses from ICS in the US, and promotes carbohydrate chemistry and biochemistry, for example, with sponsorships for graduate and post-doctoral students. 

It also sponsors the R. L Whistler Award in Carbohydrate Chemistry that is presented at ICS events every two years in one of the countries that is a member of the ICO. Because there are currently 33 member countries, there are fairly long periods between ICS in the US. Previous meetings have been in 1972 (Madison, Wisconsin); 1986 (Ithaca, New York); 1998 (San Diego, California) and 2016 (New Orleans). 

ICS events are under the aegis of the ICO, an Associated Organization of IUPAC and an Interest Group of the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, see figure above. The USACICS represents the ACS and US to the ICO.

USACICS Taxes for the year 2022 have been submitted and accepted by the IRS.  For inquires, contact Peter R. Andreana, Secretary/Treasurer at

Committee Members for USACICS

Position Name Email Division
Alexei Demchenko (2028) National Representative CARB
Peter R. Andreana (2029) Treasurer/Secretary CARB
James N. BeMiller (Life) Past President CELL
Zbigniew Witczak (Life) Past President CARB
Al French (Life) Past President CELL
Steven Sucheck (2026) Divisional Representative CARB
Nicola Pohl (2026) Divisional Representative CARB
Clay Bennett (2026) Divisional Representative
CARB Division Chair CARB
M. Soledad Peresin (2026) Divisional Representative CELL
Maren Roman (2028) Divisional Representative CELL
Nouredinne Abidi (2026) Divisional Representative CELL
Wim Thielemans (2024) CELL Division Chair CELL
Home   |   About Us   |   Awards   |   Meetings   |   Resources
Scroll to Top