David Y. Gin New Investigator Award

Awards and Fellowships

Presented annually at the Spring ACS National Meeting

The David Y. Gin New Investigator Award acknowledges and encourages outstanding contributions to research in carbohydrate chemistry by scientists in the first seven years of their independent career.



The nominee must have made outstanding contributions to carbohydrate chemistry.
The candidate must be within their first seven years of their independent career.

Nomination Form

Find the nomination form on the awards page.

Other information required:

1. Curriculum Vitae of nominee indicating:

    • Degrees received
    • Positions held since graduation
    • Previous awards for professional work following education
    • List of publications and patents

2. Two supporting letters; one from primary and another from the seconder. A third letter from another supporter (does not need to be an ACS Division of Carbohydrate Chemistry member) may also be provided.

Past Winners

Awardee Year Awardee Year
M. H. D. Postema 2003 L. -X. Wang 2004
Z. Guo 2005 M. W. Peczuh 2006
A. V. Demchenko 2007 X. Chen 2008
X. Huang 2009 P. R. Andreana 2010
J. C. Glidersleeve 2011 M. D. Disney 2012
P. Wu 2013 C. -Y. Wu 2014
M. Pratt 2015 X. Chen 2016
Z. Tan 2017 R. Derda 2018
J. Jiang 2019 C. Leimkuhler Grimes 2020
S. Townsend 2021 C. Woo 2022
M. Huang 2023 J. Kramer & J. Niu 2024
Home   |   About Us   |   Awards   |   Meetings   |   Resources
Scroll to Top