Dr. Pamela A. Marino, Chief of Biochemistry and Bio-related chemistry at the National Institute of General Medical Sciences, has received the 2020 Melville L. Wolfrom Award for outstanding service to the Division and to the field of carbohydrate chemistry. Dr. Marino received her B.A. in Biology form the University of Connecticut. She received her Ph.D. from the University of Connecticut under the direction of Prof. Mary Jane Osborn.

Following an American Cancer Society Postdoctoral Fellowship at the NCI under the direction of Dr. Ira Pastan, Dr. Marino joined the NCI as a Senior Staff Fellow. In 1994 she moved to NIGMS, where she rose through the ranks to become Chief of Biochemistry and Biorelated Chemistry. Dr. Marino has played several critical roles in raising the profile of the field of glycoscience and bringing it into the mainstream. She was a key leader in the Consortium for Functional Glycomics, and later was instrumental in helping to establish the NIH glycoscience common fund.

1 thought on “2020 WOLFROM AWARD Winner – DR. PAMELA A. MARINO”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Home   |   About Us   |   Awards   |   Meetings   |   Resources
Scroll to Top